Back After Finding Paradise

 

Celebrating in orchard at Jasper Farm

 

I have great respect for any blogger who can keep writing while hunting for a new place to live and actually moving! For the past few months that’s what I’ve been up to (but alas, not the writing part). A dysfunctional computer doesn’t help either (but thanks to friends, a new one is on its way!)

A small miracle, finding the great people who own Circle Yoga Shala’s Jasper farm. I moved in about three weeks ago with all my animals. There are five of us here on 25 acres on top of Mt. Shilo near Jasper, Arkansas. Last weekend we had an open house to celebrate finishing the studio. Around 50 visitors came from all over Arkansas to spend the day. Matt Krepps, a gourmet Ayurvedic chef, and Louanne made appetizers and a five-course dinner…with plenty of help from family. Holly Krepps  gave free yoga lessons in the studio. Kent Bonar and I gave a plant walk. In the photo, Kent is sitting at the end of the table and I’m the one leaning over with the hat. After dinner we huddled around a campfire for music by a local guitarist.

During our plant walk we found some plants I haven’t had access to; wine berry,wild carrot, dittany and wild cucumber. I’m inspired to write about them. Kent was excited to find a very rare endangered plant (not edible or medicinal)…woody spurge.

So, my friends, I’m back to writing (even though my computer has crashed four times since starting this article…new one arriving soon???). Shall I write about these new plant friends? Anything in particular you’d like to read about? Oh, if you’d like to see more photos of Jasper farm they’re at http://bit.ly/a5yY3g . Disregard the dates, my camera is stuck on July,2007 😦

About dcoda

An herbalist for over 40 years, ten years spent alone in the Ozark Hurricane Creek Wilderness Preserve, working with its brilliant botanicals. I'm an instructor and co-founder of the Ozark Herbal Academy which offers training in medicinal and edible plants through hands-on workshops and online courses.

Posted on October 10, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Have bookmarked your site and showing it to my wife Lee. We both love it; love what you’ve done with the place, that you know about John Christopher; and took care of the abandoned albino fawn…..so much more to learn there. Thanks. Very nice. Rick London

  2. Thanks Rick 🙂

    I also visited your cartoon site & FB page…good stuff there, I’m amazed at the imagination it takes to keep producing good cartoons. Hope to see more of you & Lee so we can all learn from each other.

  3. How exciting! I wish I knew you several years ago! We moved to a 40 acre hobby farm outside of Pocahontas, AR.

    Best wishes for your new place and I look forward to following your blog!

  4. Hi Granny DCoda,

    I’ve been hoping to see another post.. Either on herbs, or how the albino fawn is doing at the animal shelter, or whatever… I’ve started soaking my grains after reading about it here. I enjoy your blog! Keep up the good work.

    Sincerely,
    ECDS from the Northeast

    • Emily, thanks for the prodding! I’ve got one on the way, had a LOT of lemongrass that won’t make it through the winter outside so I’ve got some tips on overwintering, harvesting, and using it, plus getting it started again in the spring. A wonderful plant with magical powers!

Leave a Reply

